Challenge Participant 80% Professional Reader Reviews Published

Thursday, 27 August 2015

Finding Gabriel by Rachel L. Demeter




Title: Finding Gabriel
Author: Rachel L. Demeter
Publisher: Momentum (Pan Macmillan)
Genre: Historical Romance
 Ebook Release Date: August 27, 2015
Paperback Release Date: September 24, 2015



Blurb

Colonel Gabriel de Laurent departed for the war intending to die. 

After a decade of bloodstained battlegrounds while fighting in Napoleon’s army, Gabriel returns to the streets of Paris a shattered and haunted soul. Plagued by inner demons, he swallows the barrel of his flintlock pistol and pulls the trigger. 

But fate has a different plan. 

Ariah Larochelle is a survivor. Orphaned at twelve and victim to a devastating crime, she has learned to keep her back to walls and to trust no one. But when she finds a gravely injured soldier washed up on the River Seine, she’s moved by compassion. In spite of her reservations, she rescues him from the icy water and brings him into her home.

Now scarred inside and out, Gabriel discovers a kindred spirit in Ariah—and feelings he imagined lost forever reawaken as he observes her strength in the face of adversity. But when Ariah’s own lethal secrets unfold, their new love is threatened by ancient ghosts. Can Gabriel and Ariah find hope in the wreckage of their pasts—or will the cycle of history repeat again?

Perfect for fans of Gaelen Foley’s Lord of Ice and Judith James’s Broken Wing, Finding Gabriel features all the dark romance, searing passion, and historical intrigue of The Phantom of the Opera and Les Misérables.







Review:

4 out of 5 stars Kindle Copy for Review

It is a time of war in Paris during Napoleon and the streets are not safe.

Ariah Larochelle learned earlier in her life to be a survivor.  At twelve, she survived a hideous crime as she trust no one taking care off her young daughter while her husband is at war.  One night, she finds an injured soldier along the Seine and takes him home to recover.

Colonel Gabriel de Laurent is a survivor of war and did not expect to return alive.  He still suffers from the brutal murder of his wife and daughter who he could not protect them.  He finds himself wanting to die as he shot himself but Ariah ends up saving him.

Now he is scarred inside and out as he slowly recovers.  Gabriel is drawn to her but he finds out that he knows her husband and that he is dead.  Torn between devastating her and her daughter hope for his return, he keeps his knowledge at bay.


As the two find themselves drawn together, can they move past their tragedies to be together?  But when things seem to be going well, will her past come back to haunt them?  A sweeping romance that brings tragedy together to find a new beginning.


Book Trailer




Excerpt

“Look at me. Look at what you have saved.”

Gabriel released Ariah’s chin and tore away the bandage in a harsh movement. As his eyes bore into her own, pale moonlight fell upon the deformity, illuminating the twisted flesh and grotesque welts. The sight reminded her of a beautiful chateau . . . a stunning fortress situated along the coastline . . . one that had fallen into ruin and neglect. The skin was concave, destroyed, cavernous – a remnant of former glory. And the surrounding features – his burning eyes, the right side of his face, his powerful body – dwarfed the disfigurement with a striking beauty.

“Look at the monster you have created. Look upon my face, Ariah.”

She shivered at the sound of her name; slightly muffled from the injury to his mouth, it slid from his tongue with equal parts venom and hunger.

“I was supposed to die that night . . .” The last of his words ended in a choked whisper. His face fell forward in despair until his forehead was pressed against her own. He was impossibly close. And he appeared every gram a flesh-and-blood warrior – coarse and ruthlessly untamed. Sweltering heat radiated from his body and engulfed all five of her senses. She was suffocating. Visions of that long-ago night echoed in her mind until she could perceive nothing else. Ariah gave a shallow cry as she struggled to free herself once more.

“Don’t. Don’t leave me. Please.”


Her movements ceased. The words struck a chord deep inside her chest. She connected her gaze with his and was rendered speechless by the naked anguish in his stare. Regret and desire were etched in every line of his face – but what stole her breath was something entirely different. For the second time, it was neither anger nor resentment that radiated from his eyes, but a longing so intense that it nearly overwhelmed her: hope





Purchase Links

AMAZON US / UK / AU






Also by Rachel L. Demeter


AMAZON US / UK
B&N




Author Bio


Rachel L. Demeter lives in the beautiful hills of Anaheim, California with Teddy, her goofy lowland sheepdog, and her high school sweetheart of eleven years. She enjoys writing dark, poignant romances that challenge the reader's emotions and explore the redeeming power of love.

Imagining dynamic worlds and characters has been Rachel's passion for longer than she can remember. Before learning how to read or write, she would dictate stories while her mother would record them for her. She holds a special affinity for the tortured hero and unconventional romances. Whether crafting the protagonist or antagonist, she ensures every character is given a soul.

Rachel endeavors to defy conventions by blending elements of romance, suspense, and horror. Some themes her stories never stray too far from: forbidden romance, soul mates, the power of love to redeem, mend all wounds, and triumph over darkness.

Her dream is to move readers and leave an emotional impact through her words.



Author Links

No comments:

Post a comment